Puri Tourist Destination Guide

About Puri

Planning a Trip to Puri? Here’s our list of 16 top Tourist Places to visit in Puri

One of the four Dhams of Hinduism, Puri is the ancient city that brins with the magic of tourist places that can win hearts in a blink. It’s only when one walks along with the many pilgrimages in Puri, chanting the name of Lord Jagannath, that he feels the outpour of peace in his soul.

The District of Puri has been named after its headquarters, Puri. According to Cunningham, the ancient name of this town was Charitra, mentioned by the Chinese pilgrim Hiuen Tsang as Che-li-ta-lo. But the restoration of the word Che-li-ta-lo as Charitra and its identification with the town of Puri are open to doubt. The importance of the town as a seat of Vaisnavism increased when Chodaganga Deva constructed the temple of Purusottama Jagannath and installed the images of the deities. Thereafter, it became famous as the abode of Purusottama and was popularly called Purusottama Kshetra.

In 1912, the new province of Bihar and Odisha was formed and subsequently, Odisha became a separate province in 1936. After integration with Odisha on 1st January 1948, of the feudatory states of Nayagarh, Daspalla, Khandapara and Ranapur with a total area of 3941 sq. km., a separate sub-division comprising these ex-states was added to Puri District with its headquarters at Nayagarh. The fourth sub-division of Bhubaneswar was established on 26th January 1959. The old Puri District consisted of four sub-divisions i.e. Puri Sadar, Khordha, Bhubaneswar and Nayagarh. Puri Sadar sub-division consisted of four Tahasils i.e. 1) Krushna Prasad 2) Sadar 3) Pipili and 4) Nimapara. Again by the year 1995, Puri District was divided into 3 Districts i.e.1. Nayagarh District comprising of Nayagarh sub-division. 2. Khurda District comprising of Khordha and Bhubaneswar sub-divisions. 3. Puri District comprising of Puri Sadar sub-division only.

Top 4 Places to Visit in Puri

Shree Jagannath Temple

Located in the sacred town of Puri, the Jagannath Temple or the pride of India was built in the 11th century by King Indradyumna. This glorious temple is the abode of Lord Jagannath who is a form of Lord Vishnu. It is the most revered pilgrimage site for Hindus and is included in the pious Char Dham Yatra with Badrinath, Dwarka, and Rameshwaram. Apart from the main shrine that rises high, many minor temples within the complex will make you feel like you have entered God’s home itself.

Gundicha Temple

Gundicha Mandir is one of the temples closely related to the festivity of the Rath Yatra of Puri. It is a holy place where God resides for seven days during the festival. This garden is regarded as the place of Lord Jagannath’s aunt.

Sakshi Gopal

Sakshi Gopal(literal meaning, the witness lord) is a place 20 km away from Puri where a life-size image of the child Krishna is being built. This was to commemorate the incident when Lord Krishna came to this place as a witness to clear out a dispute of two Brahmans. Later it is said that lord liked this place so much that he decided to stay there for a while.

Enquiry Now :

    Trail Summary


    • Accommodation on twin Sharing Basis
    • Aarti & Tikka on arrival
    • Welcome drink on arrival
    • Bed Tea, Buffet / Fixed Menu breakfast
    • One time honeymoon cake in the room
    • All transfers & sightseeing by exclusive AC car as per above Itinerary
    • All applicable hotel taxes


    • Flight / Train tickets
    • Special activities if any as per Itinerary
    • Items of personal nature like laundry, phone calls, tips to guides / drivers etc
    • Camera / Video camera fees applicable at monuments
    • Travel / Health Insurance